21 Day Fix Day 6 – The Same Power

Romans 8:11     And if the Spirit of him who raised Jesus from the dead is living in you, he who raised Christ from the dead will also give life to your mortal bodies through his Spirit, who lives in you. 

The last two days were filled with compromise and lack of will power. I indulged in food I haven’t eaten in months, and that made yesterday even more difficult. It is amazing how just one slip up can bring us right back to the struggle. In my case it is addiction to food, to sugar and bread specifically. One indulgence on day 4 and day 5 was a complete wash. I ate so much and so many bad things, including a brownie! If I’m being honest, the brownie didn’t even taste very good. I mean, I tasted the sugar, but I tasted all the chemicals and preservatives as well. Sigh… I gave in to temptation and lost all my power, all my reserve, and all my fight.

It didn’t have to be that way. According to Romans 8:11, the spirit of him who raised Jesus from the dead is living in me. This means, of course, that the same power that raised Jesus from the dead is living in me. Think about that! Next time you are facing what seems to be an impossible situation, think about this scripture. Call on the Spirit living you, the power living in you, and he will help you. He is always there, waiting for us to call on that power. If this scripture doesn’t get you excited, you aren’t really hearing what it is saying.

I posted a reminder of this on my refrigerator. The next time I am feeling the pull, the temptation, I will be calling on the power of the spirit that lives in me to help me over come the temptation. I have already done it today, and let me tell you, it works. It doesn’t make it easier to resist, but it makes it easier to be obedient.

Day 6 of 21 was much better. I was able to fight off the cravings and temptation. I didn’t get quite enough water, but I’m still calling it a successful day. I made 3 bean chili and finished off the lentil tacos in the fridge. I’m ready for the next few days and hopefully won’t have to cook anything else.

IMG_3590I find it interesting how difficult I am finding the 21 day fix to be, when I was able to pretty much breeze through 90 days before. The only explanation is God asked me to do the 90 days, it was a fast between me and Him, and He gave me the strength and resolve to get through it. This 21 day fix is more of a personal goal, not a spiritual goal. I find that much more difficult to complete. I wonder why I’m so willing to sabotage my personal goals? This isn’t the first time I’ve done it. The pattern shows itself when I look back over the years. Food for thought…

Be Blessed!

Leave a Reply

