21 Day Fix Day 3 – Helium Isn’t Enough

Philippians 3:12-14     Not that I have already reached the goal or am already fully mature, but I make every effort to take hold of it because I also have been taken hold of by Christ Jesus. Brothers, I do not consider myself to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and reaching forward to what is ahead, I pursue as my goal the prize promised by God’s heavenly call in Christ Jesus.

I used to worry a lot. I worried about everything from finances, to health, to the future. I even worried about how much I worry.

Somehow over the years I have learned how to stop all the worrying and to trust God. It took time to get here; it certainly didn’t happen over night. Every once in a while, I still find myself worrying. All those things that I had given up to God somehow end up back in my hands. So I give them to Him again. And Again. And again.

I was praying about this cycle one night, and the picture of a balloon popped in my head. The balloon contained all my fears, doubts, and worries. I put them in that balloon, filled it up with helium, tied it with a string, and let it go. Or so I thought. In my vision, I could see that as I let go of the balloon, two of my fingers held on to the tip of the string. Even though I had let the balloon go, I was still preventing it from going up to God. That string represented my lack of trust in Him. I was afraid to let go of complete control and let the balloon float freely up to God.

Sometimes I still see that string in my fingers, but for the most part, I have let it go. I am not 100% there yet, but I’m a work in progress. God reminded me just today that if I want to do as this scripture says, to forget what is behind and reach forward to what is ahead, I have to let go of the string. Adding helium isn’t enough, I have to let go completely so that my hands are free to reach toward the future. As I hold this balloon down by the string, I am also holding myself back from receiving the blessing of God and the fulfillment of my future – my purpose. That is serious motivation to let go of the string, don’t you think?

IMG_3580Day 3 of the 21 Day Fix is going fine. I have only two big problems: I can’t seem to eat all the food, and I struggle to drink enough water. My stomach feels full all the time! I can’t remember how many times I would feel full from eating too much junk and it was never a problem, but fill up on the good foods and water and I struggle to get it done.

I have a third problem I’m working on solving. I can’t seem to get all the protein I am supposed to get. I am doing the vegan version and for my weight I am supposed to have 4 servings of protein. The problem is the limited list of vegan proteins. I eat way more protein than my chart says, but it comes in the form of beans, or quinoa, or other sources that are listed as a carb on 21 Day Fix. I know I’m getting enough protein, but I have no way to record it. I realize this isn’t a deal breaker, just a nuisance.

Other than that, I’m enjoying this so far.

So, here are at the end of day 3… I hope your day was wonderful!

Be Blessed!

 

 

Leave a Reply

