Day 88 – The Battle is the Lord’s

1 Samuel 17:45   David said the Philistine, “You come against me with sword and spear and javelin, but I come against you in the name of the Lord Almighty, the God of the armies of Israel, whom you have defied. 

v47 All those gathered here will know that is is not by sword or spear that the Lord saves; for the battle is the Lord’s, and he will give all of you into our hands.”

David's stonesFor David this battle was not about fighting Goliath. To David, it was a matter of principle. This giant was dishonoring the Lord God. His threats were condescending to God’s people and he mocked God’s army. David was ready to fight at the first hearing of this, yet the army had waiting for days listening to these threats and not fighting.

Why the difference? What caused David to want to act in God’s honor while these soldiers of God were afraid? I believe it was Holy Spirit power of righteous anger. David was unafraid of Goliath because he knew that God would not allow His name to be defiled. David knew that God was on his side and the battle belonged to the Lord God Almighty. He went up against this giant knowing that God would provide the victory and God alone would receive all the glory.

Which of these are you? I know for me, I have been both of these at one time or another in my life. I have been ready to fight in the name of the Lord, and I have also been frozen in place out of fear of my enemy. I want a heart like David. He understood that God would not turn his face from him when he went to battle.

It is day 88 and I feel like the battle is in a lull. Or maybe it’s the eye of a storm. I am sensing the winds picking back up, the enemy approaching, and turmoil and chaos are on the horizon. Part of me doesn’t want this fast to end because it gave me a purpose, and a reason for my obedience. Now comes the part of going back to life and being obedient for no other reason than because God asks for my obedience.

I’m praying as I close out this fast that God will be with me in the battles that come in the future. I want a heart like David that knows he will be with me and that the battle is not mine, but God’s, and it is all for God’s glory.

Day 88 – pondering the future as I go to sleep…

Be Blessed!

Leave a Reply

