Day 86 – Dry and Parched

1 Samuel 16:10-13     Jesse had seven of his sons pass before Samuel, but Samuel said to him, “The Lord has not chosen these.” So he asked Jesse, “Are these all the sons you have?” “There is still the youngest,” Jesse answered, “but he is tending the sheep.” Samuel said, “Send for him; we will not sit down until he arrives.” So he sent and had him brought in. He was ruddy, with a fine appearance and handsome features. Then the Lord said, “Rise and anoint him; he is the one.” So Samuel took the horn of oil and anointed him in the presence of his brothers, and from that day on the Spirit of the Lord came upon David in power. 

I find it interesting that the Spirit of the Lord is associated with anointing so often in the Old Testament. I think that must be why you hear Christians say they need a fresh outpouring of anointing when they are looking for more of God.

I tend to say I am spiritually dry, and need the oil of God to refresh my parched spirit. In my mind I picture a shaft of dry hair which is saturated with oil and becomes shiny, IMG_3447strong, and beautiful again. This illustration is easy for me to understand because I do a coconut oil treatment on my hair at least a couple times a month. It isn’t pretty, but the benefits for my hair outweigh the ridiculousness of how I look with a shower cap on my head.

The truth is my spirit does get dry. I need to make it a priority to refresh myself with the Holy Spirit so my dry and parched spirit can be renewed. It really does make all the difference, and leaves me feeling strong, shiny, and beautiful again. If I can make my hair a priority, how much more should I be taking care of my spiritual well being?

Day 85 and I wasn’t very hungry all day. Then this evening it caught up with me and I was famished. I roasted some seasoned potatoes and ate a bunch of them. I need to get in a better eating and sleeping pattern.

Tomorrow is a day off, thank goodness. I need a break from my job, even if only for a day.

Day 85 is over and out… I hope your day was a good one. I have no complaints about mine.

Be Blessed!

 

 

Leave a Reply

