Day 81 – Backdoor Promises

Judges 4:8-9 Barak said to her, “If you go with me, I will go; but if you don’t go with me, I won’t go.” “Very well,” said Deborah, “I will go with you. But because of the way you are going about this, the honor will not be yours, for the Lord will hand Sisera over to a woman.”

Did you catch what happened in the above verse? Barak put provisions on the promise of God and demanded that Deborah accompany him. Her response let him know that she will concede to his demand, but because of his behavior, he would no longer get the honor he could have had.

This passage went on to talk about Jael, who encountered Sisera and ultimately drove a stake through his temple, earning the honor of being the one who killed him. As I read this I began to wonder how many times I have missed receiving honor because I have put provisions on the promises of God. How many times has my lack of complete obedience shifted the promise of God to the back door? The promise is fulfilled because God keeps His promises, but my lack of character changed the course God had mapped out.

I don’t know about you, but I don’t want the Jael’s in my life to receive an honor I should have received. I pray my obedience not come with conditions, but be whole and complete and without demands.

jambalaya bowlDay 81 and I made a couple different things today. I roasted some green beans to eat with rice and also made a cauliflower alfredo (vegan version) to put over broccoli and quinoa pasta. It was delicious although a little bland. I think I used a different recipe last time but I forgot to save it so I will have to keep looking. In the meantime, the pasta is good, just not great. I will eat it, though.

Tonight after work I added some lettuce and tomato and avocado to my jambalaya and it made a refreshing bowl. I will definitely do that again.

Well, that is it for me tonight. Day 81 saying until next time.

Be blessed!

Leave a Reply

