Day 64 – Whose Side Are You On?

Joshua 5:13-15     Now when Joshua was near Jericho, he looked up and saw a man standing in front of him with a drawn sword in his hand. Joshua went up to him and asked, “Are you for us or for our enemies?” “Neither,” he replied, “but as commander of the army of the Lord I have now come.” Then Joshua fell face down to the ground in reverence, and asked him, “What message does my Lord have for his servant?” The commander of the Lord’s army replied, “Take off your sandals, for the place where you are standing is holy.” And Joshua did so. 

This passage challenges my thinking. Common sense tells me that someone is either on my side or on the side of my enemies, meaning against me. When Joshua speaks to the man, who calls himself the commander of the Lord’s army, he asks a very human question, “Whose side are you on, mine or my enemy’s?” The response is what challenges me. He said to Joshua, “Neither, but as commander of the army of the Lord I have now come.”

This response tells me He is only concerned with what God wants and what God is asking him to do. He doesn’t even consider anyone else but God. His response of “neither” is a powerful reminder that we all need… God’s desires, God’s plans, God’s will should be our only concern. Does that mean we stop our fellowship with people? No, because it is good to be in fellowship. It does mean we are not concerned with the schemes of man, or the ideas, problems, intentions of man. At the core of every relationship, we should be first and foremost thinking about God. God will never lead us astray. In fact, we may find we are better friends if we are listening to God rather than ourselves. God will direct us when we need to be there for someone else, and when we need to give them space. The Holy Spirit will guide us in what to say when our friend is hurting or needs advice. We will be better in tune to the needs of our friend because God is concerned with their needs.

How does this scripture make you feel? Are you on God’s side only? Or do you find yourself choosing sides?

Day 64 was okay. I am in meal prep mode for the retreat I will be on this weekend. I am going away from Thursday afternoon through Sunday evening. It will be a long weekend but watching the Holy Spirit transform lives is going to be amazing. The unfortunate thing for me is my fast will not allow me to eat what the rest of camp will be eating, so I have to bring my own food. UGH. I have a sorry excuse for a cooler, so I think I will go buy one tomorrow.

red beans ingredientsSo today I made some red beans for red beans and rice. Last night I soaked the red beans, covered them with plastic wrap and set them on the counter. The cats thought they would make a good toy so they knocked them over sometime over night, and played air hockey with the beans that spilled out. I am grateful only a few beans fell out of the covered bowl. I was able to make the recipe even with the loss of some of the beans.  They are tasty but not as spicy as I would have liked. I am considering adding some hot sauce, or I will just add it per serving as I eat it. This is the first part of my meal prep for this weekend. Tomorrow I make the rice, and I make cauliflower alfredo sauce with broccoli over quinoa pasta. I may also make a pasta salad, but I’m not sure yet. I also need to make some oatmeal for breakfast meal prep.

I think I will be fine as far as food goes. Thankfully there is a way to heat the food up in the kitchen. Otherwise it would not be fun.

Anyway, that’s it for me. Day 64 ready to rest my head.

Be Blessed!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

