Day 61 – When God Appoints a Hot Mess

Joshua 3:17     The priests who carried the ark of the covenant of the Lord stood firm on dry ground in the middle of the Jordan, while all Israel passed by until the whole nation had completed the crossing on dry ground.

As the youngest of seven children, I spent much of my life living in the shadow of my siblings. Whether good or bad, the shadow was always present. As I began reading the story of Joshua today, I was struck with the thought of the shadow Joshua had to live under. Can you imagine being a predecessor to Moses? How can anyone come along and take over for such a grand figure.

After Moses death, God speaks to Joshua and tells him that he will be the one to take the people into the promised land. He tells Joshua that he will never leave him, just as he never left Moses. Then he tells Joshua at least three times to be strong and courageous.

Joshua never hesitated, but did as the Lord commanded. When the time came to cross the Jordan, God said to Joshua in verse 7 of chapter 3: “And the Lord said to Joshua, ‘Today I will begin to exalt you in the eyes of all Israel, so they may know that I am with you as I was with Moses.'”

So the priests did as Joshua said and stepped into the river. Once their feet hit the waters, the Jordan parted and Israel was able to cross on dry land. I believe God allowed this miracle to show the people that Joshua was God’s servant and he was appointed by God.

meIsn’t it good to know that no matter how much we want to compare ourselves to someone else, God will always find a way to let the people know that we are appointed for such a time as this. When we can’t imagine stepping out in faith because we see the incredible people that have gone before us, God is saying, “Be Strong, and Courageous!” And just as He never left Moses, or Joshua, or your favorite teacher today, God will never leave you, either.

So I will embrace who I am, flaws and all, and stop comparing me to the leaders and teachers I admire. I am awkward at times, I stumble over words when speaking, I can’t see without my glasses or contacts and I recently chipped my front tooth and I have no idea how it happened. I am a hot mess, but God is going to use this hot mess to bring Glory to His name! And He wants to use you, too.

Day 61 and I am pooped! I worked a double shift today which ended up being 11 hours on my feet waiting tables. I ate sparsely, whenever I could grab a few bites of pasta salad, or fruit, or smoothie or hummus and carrot sticks. Tomorrow won’t be much better because I have an all day meeting. But I will make it work, and I certainly won’t compare myself to anyone else.

Day 61 – removing the toothpicks from my eyes and letting sleep come.

Be Blessed!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

