Day 58 – Beware of the Bickering Brother

Titus 3:9-11     But avoid foolish controversies and genealogies and arguments and quarrels about the law, because these are unprofitable and useless. Warn a divisive person once, and then warn him a second time. After that, have nothing to do with him. You may be sure that such a man is warped and sinful.

argueI don’t like conflict. I have never understood the way some people love to bicker. I never mastered the art of harmless banter. When I am speaking to someone I disagree with, I tend to overcompensate by letting them know how much I understand where they are coming from, and once they seem to grasp how understanding I am, then I will tell them where I disagree. This may not be completely healthy, but I truly dislike hurting other people’s feelings and for that reason I am careful how and when I will disagree with someone.

The above scripture is talking about more than just disagreements. Have you ever known someone who always had a response to everything you said? I’m talking about those people who can take a tiny detail of a subject that we agree on, and run with that detail to expose how different we are, or how smart they are. I have been in those conversations, and no matter what you say to them, it will always come back to their point of view.

These are normally the same people who  focus on our differences more than how much we are alike . The enemy loves this type of confusion. He thrives in our disagreements regarding God. So many denominations today, and each one loves Jesus just as much as I do. This scripture challenges me to walk in love and reminds me to step away from the divisive chatter and senseless arguments and speak life to people around me.

How about you? Do you know someone who likes to create conflict?

Day 58 and I am beginning to see the light at the end of the tunnel. I will have some decisions to make when this fast is over. I need to decide if I want to keep any aspects of this fast after my 90 days. As of now, there are some things I will keep, especially when it comes to the food I am eating. I love the energy I get from them.

The next thing I want to work on is sleeping better. I don’t get home from work until after 9pm, and then I need to eat something and then work on my blog. Inevitably, it will take a while to write the blog and then I am wide awake and unable to sleep. Somehow I need to end this cycle, although I’m not sure how.

Today I ate more leftovers. I realize this makes a boring post for you, the readers, but for me it’s a beautiful thing! Easy to reheat and eat quickly, and with my job I don’t have time to cook dinner every night. I promise I will always post when I make something new and interesting.

Day 58 is in the books.

Be Blessed!

Leave a Reply

