Day 54 – My Mediocre Magnificat

Luke 1:46-49     And Mary said, “My soul praises the Lord and my spirit rejoices in God my Savior, for he has been mindful of the humble state of his servant. From now on all generations will call me blessed, for the Mighty One has done great things for me – holy is his name.”

The word Magnificat come from the Latin word magnificare, which means magnificence. In other translations, Mary says, “my soul magnifies the Lord.” This statement of Mary’s became knows as the Magnificat and has been used as a song, most commonly for vespers.

Mary’s Magnificat exemplifies her complete submission to God. She exalted the Lord while acknowledging her own smallness. Her humility as she praised God is something I strive to achieve. Do I really see myself as nothing more than a servant of God? Am I willing, as Mary was, to allow God to turn my life upside down for His Glory? Can I really lay aside all my personal wants, desires, and plans, for the sake of God’s will?

I’m not sure I can do that. As usual, I want to believe that I am in complete submission to God, but how much of that depends on how much I want what God wants? If I wanted something different than God’s plans, I am not sure I would be willing to put aside my desires to fulfill His. I believe my Magnificat may be a bit mediocre.

Oh, how I pray that God will take from me all my selfish ambition and desire and put in me a heart that longs for nothing more than His will and His desires!

How well is your heart humbled before our magnificent God?

curry
All the fixings for Curry

Day 54 was productive. I made some curry today

curry2
Finished Product

in the Instant Pot. A new recipe and I really enjoyed it, although it is a bit spicy. I think the fire roasted tomatoes I used had a bit of a kick and just added to the heat of the curry. I also made some more pasta salad because it really is my favorite. I love how it is slightly different each time because I add whatever ingredients I have available.

I really enjoy cooking new recipes. The problem is since I am the only one who eats them, I end up eating them all week so I don’t need to make new recipes as often. Money-wise, that is a great thing, but for my cooking creativity it isn’t so good. I need to experiment more so I can get better at cooking vegan.

If you want to see my step by step as I made the curry, you can head over to Instagram (@graciegrin) and watch my story before it disappears.

Only 36 days left of this fast! For now that’s Day 54 hitting the sack.

Be Blessed!

 

Leave a Reply

