Day 52 – The Forgiveness Hurdle

Mark 11:22-25     “Have faith in God,” Jesus answered. “I tell you the truth, if anyone says to this mountain, ‘Go, throw yourself into the sea.’ and does not doubt in his heart but believes that what he says will happen, it will be done for him. Therefore I tell you, whatever you ask for in prayer, believe that you have received it, and it will be yours. And when you stand praying, if you hold anything against anyone, forgive him, so that your Father in heaven may forgive you your sins.”

Mark 11For most of my life when I read these verses, I looked at them as two separate thoughts. First is the part about having faith to believe that God will grant us what we ask in prayer. Second is that part which commands that as we pray to God we need to forgive any that we have grudges against, and doing so will bring forgiveness for our own sins from God.

Now when I read this passage, I can see that they are connected. You need to be contrite and humble enough to forgive any in your life that need forgiveness before you come to God and ask Him to grant you the things you ask. You have to cross the hurdle of forgiveness first. It seems to me that when we are aware of how much we need forgiveness, our hearts are much more pliable and will align with God’s will. We put aside all pride when we receive forgiveness and also when we grant forgiveness. In my life, pride is a major factor that keeps me from aligning my heart with God. Thankfully I don’t have to deal with it as much as I used to, but it rears its ugly head from time to time.

I just love when new revelations of scripture jump out at me. I have read this verse so many times and then one day I saw something slightly different. God’s Word is living and active, sharper than a two edged sword. It never returns void and is a key weapon for spiritual warfare.

Have you ever read a common verse only to have it take on new or deeper meaning?

Day 52 had me running around like mad. It is my fault though. I was unprepared for a meeting this afternoon, but instead of getting up early and taking care of my errands and such, I took my time, sipping my coffee, and taking in a couple episodes of my latest Netflix obsession, “The Great British Baking Show”. Next thing I knew it was almost noon, and I still hadn’t showered and I still needed to run many errands. By the time I got home, I was exhausted, but only had 30 minutes to put away groceries before leaving for my meeting. Relaxation is nice, but it isn’t as nice as being prepared. Next time I must remember that.

I didn’t try any new recipes today, but I will be making a couple tomorrow, so tune into my Instagram (@graciegrin).

For now I’m off to bed. I need to get up early so I can get a move on my chores before work tomorrow.

Day 52 planning ahead for a good night sleep.

Be Blessed!

Leave a Reply

