Day 51 – Inexplicable Oil of Joy

Psalm 45:7     You love righteousness and hate wickedness; therefore God, your God, has set you above your companions by anointing you with the oil of joy.

What is the oil of joy? I’m not sure I can describe it, but I think I have experienced it.

Like many people, my workplace is a common testing ground for me when it comes to controlling my tongue and avoiding sin. It is so easy to fall into the whispers of gossip, or to over react to what seems like unfair treatment. I often need to reign in my attitude and control my facial expressions. I do my best to keep myself on a path of righteousness at my job. Thankfully I am not on my own in this endeavor because it isn’t my righteousness I am striving to attain, it is God’s. Through Jesus I am able to walk in His righteousness and avoid falling into sin.

What I have noticed when I am able to avoid the negativity, the gossip, the bad attitudes, I am able to walk in joy. Not happiness, I am talking about the Joy of the Lord. It really does bubble up from within and flow out of you. It has an effervescent quality that makes my feet feel lighter as if I am walking on a cloud. Life is just easier when anointed with the oil of joy. I still experience pain, and tragedy, and turmoil, but somehow the heaviness disappears and I am not weighted down by the circumstances around me. Yet, when I succumb to the pitfalls of sin, I instantly feel that weight come back on me until I am able to get my heart re-aligned with God and walk in His righteousness.

Have you ever felt the inexplicable oil of joy in your life?

oil pendantToday I took a big step in my obedience walk with God. For quite some time He has been leading me down a path of prayer for others. It began with intercession, and then moved on to praying for people in person. Most recently, He has begun pointing me in the direction of anointing others with oil when I pray. I have been hesitant to buy the oil because I knew He would ask me to use it.

I finally gave in to the prompting of the Holy Spirit and bought some anointing oil and a small vial to wear around my neck. It took some time to decide which oil to use and I finally decided on Hyssop. (Psalm 51:7)  I found a vial I like, with Celtic knots across the top, and I began wearing it today. I love Celtic knots, and my heritage falls in line with that. I am not sure if God will ask me to use it right away, but the step in obedience brought some unexpected peace at work today. I felt the anointing of joy more than usual. I don’t know why I am always surprised at the peace I feel when I walk in obedience to God.

So Day 51 was rather uneventful. I ate some leftovers, which it seems I do a lot. I don’t like to waste food, so I keep eating it until it spoils or until it’s gone.

I’m ready for bed now, but first a bath to relax and get ready for a good night’s sleep. (fingers crossed).

Day 51 bidding you adieu.

Be Blessed!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

