Day 49 – Spectacle of (Mary) Grace

Jude 17-20     But, dear friends, remember what the apostles of our Lord Jesus Christ foretold. They said to you, “In the last times there will be scoffers who will follow their own ungodly desires” These are the men who divide you, who follow mere natural instincts and do not have the Spirit. But you, dear friends, build yourselves up in your most holy faith and pray in the Holy Spirit. 

Truth be told, I am often a big ol’ mess of a woman. I am clumsy, and awkward, and goofy. I try to blend with the crowd, but my natural personality doesn’t allow me to do that very well. In short – I am a spectacle.spectacle

One thing I am learning during this fast of discipline and obedience is the world will not understand me the more I follow Jesus. As I begin to obey God more, I will become even more of a spectacle to the world. Yet, rather than being a joke, or a clown, I will be a spectacle of Grace. No one will be able to deny the impact of how God is moving in my life, so they will despise me instead. I am learning to be prepared for the world to dismiss me. It is only when I lay down my desire to blend with the world, and only when I stop caring what they think of me, that I will be free to be who it is that God created me to be. And when I am able to achieve that, I will find a peace and joy I have yet to experience in my lifetime. I am beginning to see glimpses of what lies ahead on my journey with Jesus, and it is good.

Have you ever felt like a spectacle of Grace in your life? Are you afraid to rock the boat with the world?

Day 49 and I’m feeling fine. I ate more chili and polenta today and I have to say, I am a big fan of polenta. Tomorrow morning I am trying it with syrup to make is sweet like a pancake. I also went out to eat with my daughters and their boyfriends. I really shouldn’t have gone, but I love my time with my kids. We went to Village Inn, and I ordered some broccoli and rice and sauteed onions. I also ate some french fries and a few onion rings. Don’t judge me!

Now it’s bedtime for tomorrow begins another week. Day 49 towing the line.

Be Blessed!

 

Leave a Reply

