Day 48 – New Eats Make Good Treats

Mark 7:6-8     He replied, “Isaiah was right when he prophesied about you hypocrites; as it is written ‘These people honor me with their lips, but their hearts are far from me. They worship me in vain; their teachings are but rules taught by men.’ You have let go of the commands of God and are holding on to the traditions of men.”

Today I was chatting with some friends about the foods we used to eat when we were young. Often we never grow out of those meals our mom made. It takes time to venture out of our norm and try new things. I used to make the same foods over and over. It is only in recent years that I have become more adventurous with my food. And my palate has never been happier!

It is the same with our religious traditions. We all grew up with some sort of spiritual routine (or lack of routine). As we enter adulthood, we tend to fall into the same pattern as our parents had. Did they take you to church every week? Eventually you will find yourself in church every week. Did they read the bible and say prayers with you every night? Eventually you will find yourself reading the bible to your own kids and praying with them before bed.

The thing is, God doesn’t speak to us the same as he spoke to our parents, our grandparents, or our siblings. His relationship with us is unique to us. This means that our pattern of doing things, and our routine, and our spiritual practices will be unique to us. As we mature in faith, God will reveal more and more to us and our faith and our relationship with Him will evolve. And our spiritual palate will never be happier!

zucchiniDay 48 was pretty good. No work today, so I was able to relax a bit. I tried a couple new recipes and I was pleased with both. First I made some roasted zucchini with oregano and nutritional yeast and some organic pizza sauce to dip it in. It was a very good snack/light lunch. I think next time I would like a little more breading but I wasn’t sure how to get the breading to stay on the zucchini without egg. It is time to research my cookbooks (and pinterest) to find some good vegan breading methods.

Surprisingly, the zucchini held me over for hours, but when I got home from church I was ready to eat again. I decided to make some polenta to go with the 3 bean chili I had madechili-and-polenta earlier this week. The polenta turned out fine and was easy to slice and saute. I love how it gets crispy on the outside and is still creamy on the inside. It held up great next to the chili and was a nice change from rice.

So two new treats that I am excited about. At this point in the fast, every new recipe feels like an indulgence. It probably has something to do with the fact I can make a batch of something and eat it all week without blinking. No wonder I can sometimes get bored with the food I am eating. Time to be more adventurous with this vegan thing, like I was with the food I ate before the fast.

Day 48 falling into a food coma. The polenta was super filling and I am stuffed.

Be Blessed!

 

 

Leave a Reply

