Day 46 – From Pit to Praise

Psalms 40:1-3     I waited patiently for the Lord; he turned to me and heard my cry. He lifted me out of the slimy pit, out of the mud and mire; he set my feet on a rock and gave me a firm place to stand. He put a new song in my mouth, a hymn of praise to our God. Many will see and fear and put their trust in the Lord. 

A couple years ago my life was a complete mess. We were broke, losing our house to foreclosure, unhappy in our jobs, my oldest son was in prison, and our cars were constantly breaking down. Our money pit of a house was falling apart around us and we didn’t have the money to fix it. Nothing seemed to be going right.

I made a decision one day to just focus on Jesus and put all my trust in Him. I took my eyes off our circumstances and looked to God. I prayed the promises of God over my life every day.

Fast forward two years and I am in a good place. I waited patiently for God and He pulled me out of the pit and set my feet firmly on the Rock and now I can sing His praises. The funny thing is, I’m still broke, but I am miraculously able to pay my bills each month. I am still discontent with my lack of career, but my job is great. God uses this job to bless me in so many ways. My son is still in prison, but I have stopped worrying about what will become of him. Instead I have given him to God, and I know that God loves him and has a plan for him.

So what changed? In reality, very little has changed in these two years, except for my heart. Those around me have noticed the change, too. I am nicer and more patient at work. I don’t have a new car, but a good car was provided for me. My husband was able to get a new car for his long commute to work. My life has been on display for all to see, and I only hope they see how much God is moving in my life.

That is my goal, to be an example for others. And now I am in a new stage of waiting on God. There is another big change coming, but I have to wait for God to give the green light. I pray that as I wait, I will remember that He gives me a new song to sing, and I can share that song with all those around me.

Have you ever seen God move in your life? Has he pulled you out of the pit into a place of praise?

image-1Day 46 was okay. I had to work today, but I really didn’t do much more than that. I’m still trying to rest my body since I think I am fighting off a cold of some sort. I ate red beans and rice for brunch and for dinner. It is just so good I can’t help myself when it’s in the refrigerator. I also ate some berries and I have noticed that detoxing from sugar has made my fruit taste so much sweeter. Everything tastes sweeter, actually.

Speaking of sweet – my new favorite honey is a Florida orange blossom honey. It really is out of this world. I’m still not sure why honey isn’t vegan. I suppose I should stop calling myself vegan because I eat local honey. Oh well, let the die-hard vegans come after me. I’m ready for them.

Anyway – day 46 is history.

Be Blessed!

Leave a Reply

