Day 45 – 5 Things I’ve Learned

Mark 1:45     Instead he went out and began to talk freely, spreading the news. As a result, Jesus could no longer enter a town openly, but stayed outside in lonely places. Yet the people still came to him from everywhere.

I have been reading through the gospels again, and today I started Mark. This verse is right after Jesus heals a man with leprosy and instructs him to tell no one, but to go to the priest and offer sacrifices. The man, of course, does not follow those instructions. This morning as I read, I was overcome with the reality of how difficult it must have been for Jesus. He could go no where without multitudes following him. He had no privacy, and often had to retreat far out of the towns in order to pray. It must have been so tiring and so lonely.

Have you ever been surrounded by people but still felt lonely? As if no one really knew you, they just wanted something from you. I have felt this way before and I never realized that Jesus understands this feeling. He felt it, too.

I am grateful for this revelation, this glimpse into the humanity of Jesus and what he endured while fulfilling the prophecies. I focus so much on the cross, that I forget to study his life.

What about you? Have you ever had a revelation into Jesus humanity as you read the bible?

Day 45… I am halfway there. Here are 5 things I have learned in the first half of my journey:

  1. I don’t miss meat, but I do miss wheat. And sugar. Aside from an occasional juicy burger or steak, or kielbasa with anything, meat is not my favorite thing. And I don’t miss it. I miss a great bread, though. Or a sugary treat in the evenings.
  2. I don’t crave sugar because I am addicted, I crave it because I use food as my source of img_2627emotional comfort. And bread, well that converts to sugar so the body uses it the same way. Today was a day that I really wanted some sugar. I was physically cranky because I wanted sugar. I opted for my chocolate peanut butter chia pudding instead. Not as satisfying, but at least I didn’t cheat on this fast!
  3. Writing something every day has been difficult at times. I feel I have nothing to say, but the practice has really helped me get back in the swing of writing. I think I will keep up with the daily writing even when the fast is over.
  4. Eggs are in everything. From baking, to cooking, to eating out, it is difficult to avoid eggs.
  5. Avoiding dairy will become a lifestyle. Even if I go back to eating the occasional piece of meat after this fast, I will do everything in my power to avoid dairy. My stomach, which was plagued with issues before, has been incident free since I started this fast. The more I pray about it and the more I pay attention, I am convinced it is because I am no longer consuming dairy.

So that’s it, 5 things I have learned so far on this fast. I have learned some spiritual things as well, but those are not ready for discussion. Maybe by the end of this 90 days.

Day 45 kicking tail and taking names.

Be Blessed!

Leave a Reply

