Day 44 – Don’t Make Me Lose My Jesus

Mark 1:8     I baptize you with water, but he will baptize you with the Holy Spirit.

Ezekiel 8:26-27     I will give you a new heart and put a new spirit in you; I will remove from you your heart of stone and give you a heart of flesh. And I will put my Spirit in you and move you to follow my decrees and be careful to keep my laws. 

So there is this woman at work who I am fairly certain God placed in my path to teach me some things. She is loud, abrasive, and rude. Even when she is just trying to make conversation, she comes across as condescending and mean. Most days I can brush off her attitude with a simple “That’s just how she is”. Today, however, I had enough. I was just cranky enough that the way she was speaking to me and the other servers ticked me off in a big way. I let her know that I didn’t appreciate the way she was speaking to me by tossing one of my little dessert plates a little too hard into the water, which splashed up on her. My temper got the best of me. Whether or not I was in the right about her bad attitude no longer mattered because I acted out in anger. The fact that I never said anything worse than “Don’t start with me” while she spewed profanity and then talked about me when I left the kitchen didn’t matter. I was just as wrong for my actions toward her. As I was walking out of the kitchen, I wanted to tell her not to make me lose my Jesus, but I kept my mouth shut. Years ago, it would have turned into a loud shouting match between us, but I have matured enough that I can walk away when there is no point to a confrontation.

This got me thinking about the Holy Spirit. What has changed the nasty, entitled attitude of my 20’s? I am not that girl anymore. The answer is quite simply Jesus. When I accepted Jesus in my life I was given the Holy Spirit who now dwells within me. The Holy Spirit is what makes me want to be a better person. Loving Jesus and accepting him is the lock to a new life, and the Holy Spirit is the key that opens that lock so I can have all the promises held within. Without the Holy Spirit, I would have no desire to live a life that follows God’s decrees and laws. It is by the Holy Spirit that I am continually being sanctified in this life.

Have you ever felt God using a person in your life to teach you some valuable lessons? How do you deal with your anger?

Day 44 and I’m still battling the sleepiness. I don’t really know what to do in order to fix my lack of quality sleep. It is making me drag all day and I feel like I am in a brain fog much of the time.img_2614

I managed to make it through work tonight, even with the anger issue. I drank my smoothie while I was there as always, but I think I may try my smoothie in the morning for a while and see if that helps with my focus. I also ate some pasta salad at work. I just love that stuff. When I got home from work I roasted some green beans and yellow squash. As they were cooking I threw some black beans, salsa, and corn in a pot and heated it up. I put it over some leftover rice and it was delicious! Not bad for a dinner that was just thrown together with the ingredients I had on hand. More often than not, it’s the thrown together dinners that are the most satisfying.

Well, that’s it for me. I still haven’t started running, or even walking. Don’t judge me!

This is Day 44 going to bed so I can lay there and stare at the ceiling praying for morning.

Be Blessed!

 

Leave a Reply

