Day 43 – Don’t Stop Believing

Philippians 3:12-14     Not that I have already obtained all this, or have already been made perfect, but I press on to take hold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of me. Brothers, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.

As I am nearing the halfway point of this fast, I find myself forgetting why I am doing this. I have to refocus my determination and push through the doubt and random cravings. This is about so much more than food, diet, health. I believe with all my heart that through this fast I will see breakthroughs in my marriage, in my future job, in my husband’s future job, and in my faith. I have no doubt that God directed me to do this fast, even going so far as to give me the minute details of it.

Yet, somehow I still lose focus on occasion, forgetting how clearly God spoke to me. The above scripture encourages me because even Paul had to refocus his attention to Jesus. He confesses that he has yet to take hold of the knowledge of who Jesus really is to us. Or the knowledge of the power of his resurrection and sharing in his sufferings. Paul admits he is imperfect, but that he presses on, forgetting what is behind, forgetting the past, and moving toward the prize.

I am not alone in my struggle to maintain focus. What about you? Do you have a specific area in your life that you need to persevere and press on?

img_2613Day 43 was okay. I am so tired today, however. I think it is my sleep patterns. I simply don’t get enough sleep. I am normally up well past midnight and I wake up early every day. I am not allowing my body enough time to reset. I am hoping regular exercise will help with my negligent sleep patterns. I start tomorrow! (Gulp!) I went to Walmart today and purchased an arm band so I can wear my phone. My Couch to 5K app is on my phone, as well as a couple playlists for working out. I am praying this will keep me motivated. I also signed up for a 5K in May, so that is another reason to stay motivated.

Today I made the wonderful pasta salad again. I reallypasta-salad-2 love it. And I especially love how it is slightly different every time I make it, but it is always delicious. I added just a touch of kimchi to the pasta today and it gave it a really nice kick.

I also have all the ingredients to make a vegetable soup, but I am having trouble finding the motivation to do it. This is another aspect of needing to persevere and press on toward the prize. I need to keep researching new and exciting recipes to try.

If you have any ideas, feel free to send them my way. Until next time, Day 43 is in the books.

Be Blessed!

Leave a Reply

