Day 41 – Hyssop Me Again

Psalm 51:7-12     Cleanse me with hyssop, and I will be clean; wash me, and I will be whiter than snow. Let me hear joy and gladness; let the bones you have crushed rejoice. Hide your face from my sins and blot out all my iniquity. Create in me a pure heart, O God, and renew a steadfast spirit within me. Do not cast me from your presence or take your Holy Spirit from me. Restore to me the joy of your salvation and grant me a willing spirit, to sustain me. 

There are days when it seems all is right with me and God and we are walking in sync together. Then there are days when my mere humanity, my faults, shortcomings, and failures come bubbling to the surface in a rapid boil and overflow on the people around me.

Today is one such day. Although from the outside it doesn’t appear to be a rapid boil kind of day, on the inside my selfishness is simmering. I don’t know why I find it so difficult to walk in love for all my fellow humans. Not all of the people I come in contact  with, but just a few. I need a restart. I need the water to be dumped out and put fresh water in my pot and keep it from boiling over. I need to be cleansed with Hyssop… again. I long for God to create in my a clean heart, so that I put away my selfishness and allow Him to restore to me the joy of my salvation. I want a willing spirit.

Not such a tall order, is it? Lucky for me (and you) our God is bigger than anything we cancoffee2 possibly imagine or encounter.

Day 41 started with me at the DMV. We waiting about 30 minutes before we were helped which is pretty quick. After taking care of the title and registration for the car, I came home and had a second cup of coffee. I am telling you… this coffee is dangerous. So delicious. Anyway, I made myself some pizza for lunch. I used the box mix that I talked about last week. It really is so good!

I went to church for rehearsal in the afternoon, and then stayed for the evening services so I was hungry by the time the second service let out. I ate the last of the rice/beans when I got home and had a little more pizza.ricebeans As you can see in the picture, I am loving the guacamole. I found a ready made spice mix that you just add to a smashed avocado and you have guacamole. It isn’t as good as the regular kind, but it tastes delicious on anything spicy. And a bonus perk is that is gets me to eat avocado, which I have never been able to eat before. I also really like the bean mixture. I used pinto beans and canned chipotle tomatoes, and after it was all mixed and seasoned, I used the hand held immersion blender to smash up some of the beans and thicken it. I could eat this stuff every day.

 

Well.. that is it for me tonight. My eyes won’t stay open and I have a long day tomorrow. So, Day 41 is calling it a wrap.

Be Blessed!

Leave a Reply

