Day 36 – Bite Your Tongue

Matthew 12: 36-37     But I tell you that men will have to give account on the day of judgement for every careless word they have spoken. For by your words you will be acquitted, and by your words you will be condemned. 

img_2552

“Sorry.” This phrase is one of my biggest pet peeves. If you do something wrong or say something wrong, just admit it and apologize. To apologize so dismissively is inconsiderate and without feeling. If your tongue gets away from you, be a grown up and apologize so it means something. Look the offended person in the eye and tell them WHY you are apologizing. It is common courtesy. Unfortunately, the art of apologizing has been lost on recent generations.

Of course, the way to avoid needing to apologize at all is to bite your tongue before you say something you should not say. Be intentional with your words, for they can bring life or death, blessing or cursing. There is power in our words. The above scripture makes it clear just how intentional we should be, considering we will have to give account for every word spoken out of anger or haste. I don’t believe this scripture is just talking about the words that offend others. I think it is also talking about those words we speak too quickly, like swearing on something, or making a promise we can’t keep, or saying yes to something when we didn’t take the time to pray and decipher what God’s will is for the situation. Don’t let your tongue control you, rather control your tongue with the help of the Holy Spirit. It is definitely not easy, but as I age, the easier it gets. Usually. There are exceptions, of course. After all, I’m only human.

Day 36 was good. No new foods today, but I did start using my HealthWatch 360 app again. I had stopped using it, and I was definitely eating way too much food each day.

Tomorrow I begin walking, which will eventually lead to running. I want to start the Couch to 5k again and get myself into better condition. I’m not worried so much about how my clothes fit, but I do want to have stamina and lasting energy throughout the day. I will admit right now – I do not like to exercise. This addition of exercise is something I have needed to do for weeks, but I have been procrastinating and putting it off because it is one of my least favorite things. I am determined to make it a part of my routine, but I know it will be difficult.

I better get some sleep if I want to wake up and walk tomorrow. So for now it is Day 36 hitting the sack.

Be Blessed!

 

Leave a Reply

