Day 31 – Messy Transitions

Psalm 127:1-2     Unless the Lord builds the house, its builders labor in vain. Unless the Lord watches over the city, the watchmen stand guard in vain. In vain you rise early and stay up late, toiling for food to eat – for he grants sleep to those he loves.

Like most of us, my calendar seems to always be full. From work to meetings, from volunteering to serving at church, from lunches with friends to errands for the home, there is always something to be done.

Tonight I was at a rehearsal for an upcoming meeting at which I am helping lead worship. As we went over our set list we began to rehearse the transitions between songs. It just so happens that for more than one of the songs, there may be a split second of silence as we move the capo on the guitar. As two of us were trying to figure out how to fix the transition and make it more smooth, the young woman playing the guitar said, “well, they will just have to deal with a second of silence.” As soon as the words came out of her mouth, God was speaking to my heart. In that moment I saw before me all the appointments on my calendar and how they smoothly transition one to the other. As carefully as I have my schedule planned out, I didn’t leave any room for God to speak to me.

It was clear that He was asking me to pause, take a breath, slow down, and allow that second of silence. In other words, I needed to allow my transitions from one thing to the next become a little more messy. Without a pause in my busyness I cannot hear Him or allow the Holy Spirit to direct my steps. I wonder, though, if I would  be willing to upset my carefully planned out day in order to follow the Holy Spirit’s direction? Am I willing to set down my schedule when God gives me a new mission for the day?

On my way home from the rehearsal tonight I heard this song and I knew God was making a point:  Speak to the Silence. Take a listen if you find yourself in the same boat with me.

Is your calendar jam packed with smooth transitions? Would you be willing to let it go if God prompted you to do something different for a day?pizza-dough

Day 31 was busy as most Wednesdays are for me. I know, I know… Now you see why God had to speak to me in the middle of a rehearsal.

Anyway, I made a couple pizzas today that were delicious! The crust came from a box and was made with almond flour, so no wheat and no soy, dairy, or sugar! The brand name was Simple Mills. I think I have finally satisfied my pizza craving. Unfortunately, since I have no willpower, I ate both pizzas for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. I don’t know what’s wrong with me, but I know it tasted so good! In my defense, pizza is my absolute favorite food and I haven’t had any for 30 days. It’s been tough. And yes, I say that in all seriousness. And yes, I know how ridiculous that sounds, but I stand by my need for pizza.

pizzasOkay, not really… I don’t NEED it but I have missed it. Tomorrow I will do better and eat a beautifully colorful array of nutritious foods. And I will cherish the memories of today when I made a pig of myself with gluten free, soy free, dairy free, grain free, sugar free pizza.

And as delicious as the two small pizzas look, I promise I won’t talk of pizza again unless I happen to make the perfect cauliflower pizza crust, and then I will sing it from the rooftops.  Until then, no more pizza talk, and I apologize for how many times I have brought it up during this 30 days. Now that I think about it, I may have a problem. Something to reflect on for the next 30 days.

For now, it’s Day 31 bidding adieu.

Be Blessed!

 

 

Leave a Reply

