Day 29 – Can You Hear Me Now?

1 Samuel 3:10     Samuel answered, “Speak, for your servant hears.”

I wasn’t feeling very well today. My stomach was sour last night before bed which lasted throughout the day. Thankfully it never progressed beyond feeling a bit off. Considering everyone around me has been getting sick, I’m thankful it hasn’t gotten to me yet.

img_2464
Are you playing phone tag with God?

During my prayer time this morning, I was asking God to give me clarity for my purpose and my future. I am curious what He will lead me to do next. I had read the above verse during my devotion time, and I used it during my prayer time. I told God that I am indeed listening to Him and waiting for Him to speak. What I heard was “Can you hear me now?” I was a bit confused as to what that meant and what the Spirit was speaking to me. Then it hit me, God is always speaking but I am not always listening. I try to get Him to speak to me when it is convenient for me, rather than when He has something to say.

I began to think about the disciples and how Jesus called them to come and go with Him. When He asked Simon, James and John to follow Him, they immediately left everything behind and followed. They didn’t ask Jesus to wait so they could get ready, the just went. Oh, to be so sure of my Savior! I had to ask myself if I would be willing to drop everything and go where He asked me to go. In all honesty, I’m not sure. I would like to believe I would, but the reality is I have created a comfortable life for myself, and it would be difficult to just walk away. This sobering thought made me rethink all that I deem important in  my life. My “things” have no eternal value, so why do I want to accumulate them? It may be time for me to downsize and begin the journey toward a life of minimalism.

Would you be able to leave everything behind and go if God called you to go? Are you listening for Him every day, or just when it is convenient for you?

Day 29 was a dull day. Since I wasn’t feeling well, I slept a lot this morning before going to work. I had plans to grocery shop and cook, but that was put off until tomorrow. I’m hoping I will be back to 100% tomorrow so I can get it all done. Stay tuned to Instagram (@graciegrin) to see what I can accomplish.

For now, it’s off to bed. Day 29 checking out.

Be Blessed!

Leave a Reply

