Day 24 – The Broccoli Cheese Incident

Isaiah 58:4     Behold, you fast only to quarrel and to fight and to hit with a wicked fist. Fasting like yours this day will not make your voice be heard on high.  

Day 24 -You win some and you lose some. Today I lost in what I will refer to as “The

broccoli-cheese
The Offender

Broccoli Cheese Incident”. I tried a new recipe (Broccoli Cheese Pasta) with high hopes. It promised me all the cheesy pasta goodness I have been missing since starting this fast. It lied.

What’s that saying our moms used to say? If it seems to good to be true, it probably is. I used my instant pot as the directions stated but my finished product was a glob of gooey fake cheesiness sprinkled with broccoli. Seriously, vegan cheese it great when sprinkled on a taco or across a pizza, but it was never intended to be eaten in large quantities. I ate a small bowl of the offensive dinner. At first it seemed good flavor would win out, but that was a trick. 10 minutes later and it felt like a cinder block formed in my stomach. The only thing I can compare it to is when you eat too much McDonald’s and your stomach feels like a rock. Only worse.

This is probably my fault. I need to stop trying to bend the rules of this fast by eating all my favorite foods – only vegan. I am pretty sure working the system that way negates the spirit of a fast. So I am turning a new leaf tonight… no more trying to eat all my old favorites vegan-style. I want to use the rest of this fast to learn to eat new things, different things. I want to explore the world of nutrition that God has given us from the earth. I want to embrace all that God is trying to teach me instead of pouting and manipulating my way through. I want my voice to be heard and my sacrifice to be pleasing to God.

Time to shift focus… and all it took was The Broccoli Cheese Incident to remind me. I plan on negotiating for pizza, though. I always need pizza.

That was it for me today. For those of you keeping track, I weighed in at 209.6 today. Exactly 12 pounds down. Of course, after tonight’s dinner, I will probably gain a couple more. That brick in my stomach is heavy for sure.

Day  24 – out with the trash like my failed dinner.

Be Blessed!

 

 

Leave a Reply

