Day 21 -21 Days Makes a Habit?

2 Peter 1:5-8     For this very reason, make every effort to add to your faith goodness; and to goodness, knowledge; and to knowledge, self-control; and to self-control, perseverance; and to perseverance, godliness; and to godliness, brotherly kindness; and to brotherly kindness, love. For if you possess these qualities in increasing measure, they will keep you from being ineffective and unproductive in your knowledge of our Lord Jesus Christ. 

21-90I was looking for a picture to celebrate my 21 day, habit forming journey. I came across this picture and I had never seen this principle before. 21 days for a habit, 90 days for a lifestyle. Interesting that this journey is 90 days, which seemed impossible when I first chose it. But I knew I heard God tell me it was to be 90 days. Now to read that the thought is 90 days makes a lifestyle, it makes sense to me. I want to live a lifestyle of obedience always. I pray the message will be come more clear as my days roll by, but in the meantime I will persevere.

Did you notice that before perseverance is self-control? That makes sense. It isn’t my strong characteristic, but as always, I am learning. Have you heard of this rule before? Have you ever tested it?

As a side note, I read quite a bit today about the 21 days to a habit rule being false. Either way, I am proud I made it this far and I feel like a habit is forming.

So… Day 21 and I’m feeling good. I made my husband pot roast and mashed potatoes forcorn-chowder dinner tonight. Looking at those buttery potatoes made me crave comfort food. I decided to make a gluten free Olive Oil and Dill bread in the crock pot. It is the first time I have attempted any type of baked good since I started. The middle of the bread was good, and the crust would have been good but it had a strange consistency. Overall, I’m happy with it and it satisfied a craving I was having.

I also made Corn and Potato Chowder in my Instant Pot. That was delicious and my daughter chose that over pot roast for dinner tonight! Success!

Now I am tired and my belly is full because that dense bread was super filling, but oh, so good!

Day 21, signing off.

Be Blessed!

 

Leave a Reply

