Day 20 – Waiting to Shout

Joshua 6:10     But Joshua had commanded the people, “Do not give a war cry, do not raise your voices, do not say a word until the day I tell you to shout. Then Shout!”

Joshua chapter 6 recounts the fall of Jericho into the hands of the Israelites. It was through some specific and odd orders from God. As most of you know, God ordered the men to march around the city one time a day without saying a word for 6 days. Then on the 7th day they were to march around Jericho 7 times, while the priests were to blow their trumpets, and after a long blast of the trumpets, all the men would shout and the walls would come down.

Sounds crazy, right? It is an exercise in obedience for the Israelites, one I’m not sure I would pass. At church tonight as my pastor spoke about this, he questioned what the men must have been thinking. God spoke to Joshua and gave him the orders, but these men were given orders from Joshua. I wonder if they thought he had lost his marbles? It took immense trust to follow through with Joshua’s orders from God.

I am sure there were moments they wanted to stop. They may have thought it was ridiculous to behave this way. I am sure they thought it was not going to work and they were not going to receive their promise.

Do you ever feel that way? That the promise of God is never going to come to fruition in your life? I know I do. It is so difficult to trust God and to stay quiet, waiting for our moment to shout so we can receive the promise.

mewaitingAre you in a season of waiting to shout? I am. This fast is a big part of me pushing forward when I don’t know the end result. I know that God asked me to do this, and I know He asked me to write about it, but I don’t know why. There is a promise of a reward for my obedience, but my mind cannot see how that will play out. So I keep going, and I trust in Him.

Are you having trouble trusting God in an area of your life? Is it difficult to see how your obedience will lead to the fulfillment of His promises to you?

Day 20 – A busy day. I started off this day with a meeting for an upcoming retreat for which I am volunteering. There are four meetings to prepare for each weekend, and although they are long meetings, I am always impacted by the stories shared and the time of worship, communion, and fellowship with the other women.

I brought my breakfast to the meeting, which was only a banana, a mandarin, almonds, and a lara bar. It filled me up and kept me on track.

I ate some tacos for lunch and for dinner I tried my hand at cauliflower pizza crust again.

pizza2
Attempt #2 at Cauliflower Crust Pizza

This attempt was more successful than the last one, but I still have some things to fix for the perfect crust. It was very tasty, though, so that is better than nothing. I am determined to get it right. Tomorrow is Sunday, so I am thinking of some corn chowder for dinner – vegan style made in my instant pot. Stay tuned tomorrow to see how it turns out.

That’s it for me this fine day. I hope your day was beautiful.

Day 20 saying peace out.

Be Blessed!

Leave a Reply

