Day 19 – How Do I Love Thee?

Romans 13: 8-10     Let no debt remain outstanding, except the continuing debt to love one another, for he who loves his fellow man has fulfilled the law. The commandments, “Do not commit adultery,” “Do not murder,” “Do not steal,” “Do not covet,” and whatever other commandment there may be, are summed up in this one rule: “Love your neighbor as yourself.” Love does no harm to its neighbor. Therefore love is the fulfillment of the law. 

Today I was faced with the reality that I am not good at exhibiting love to people when I’m irritated. Duh, right? Well, it hit me today for some reason. How am I supposed to represent Christ if I am not showing those I come in contact with the love of Christ?

I can be a flippant when I am irritated. I need to work on that and also work on controlling my facial expressions. I can’t hide the way I feel because it shows all over my face.

So, if love does no harm to its neighbor and it is the fulfillment of the law, I think I need to get to work and walk in that love. Maybe if we could all love one another as the scripture commands, we would see less discourse and hatred in this politically charged country.

How about you? Do you think you are good at showing love to those you meet?

Day 19 – Today was a blur. I know I had more tacos, because waste not want not. I will be eating those for the next few days.

I also ate more salad and had a smoothie and fruit salad. Oh, and chips and hummus. Not a newsworthy kind of day.

valerian-teaI want to share one of my teas that I drink at night. I think I like it better than chamomile.

I will warn you, though, valerian stinks like the inside of an old dirty gym bag. Seriously… it is so smelly that my cat runs from the smell when I open the packet. Thankfully the smell dissipates once it’s warm, and a touch of honey helps with that, too.

This tea soothes me so well and makes me relaxed so I can get some sleep. If you haven’t guessed by now, I don’t sleep well. Anything that helps me get a better night sleep is a welcome addition to my food journey.

How well do you sleep? I know enough sleep is so important to good health but I just can’t seem to make it happen. I am praying for the future, and for a restful sleep pattern soon.

That’s it for me, I’m exhausted tonight.

Day 19 – signing off.

Be Blessed!

Leave a Reply

