Day 18 – It’s Not About Me

Isaiah 48:10-11     See, I have refined you, though not as silver; I have tested you in the furnace of affliction. For my own sake, for my own sake I do this. How can I let myself be defamed? I will not yield my glory to another.

Have you ever taken a long look at yourself and noticed things that were not pretty? I recently have, for the umpteenth time, and again I find something new that needs to be adjusted. This time all I could see is my self absorbed nature. I consider myself a kind and thoughtful person, but if I’m honest, when I take a long look I see I suffer from the “me” mentality.

As I was reading my bible today I came across the above scripture. I was immediately reminded of the recent self examination. God’s words jumped from the page. I began to realize that as much as I want this fast to be all about God, I have a tendency to make it all about me. Defeats the purpose, right? A fast is supposed to be a denying of self, not indulging oneself. The purpose of this fast is to refine me, and it is ALL for the the Glory of God. I need to remember that. Keeping my eyes focused on Him as I go through my days, and plan my meals, and cook my meals. It is all for Him. Just like this blog is all for Him. It doesn’t matter if not one person reads this, I am doing it for Him because He asked me to write it. I welcome the refinement, and I am open to the burning away of my selfish desires so that my heart can be truly aligned with His.

When was the last time you had a time of self examination? What did you see that you wanted to change?

Day 18 – This day started off just fine. I weighed in at 211.0 today. For those of you keeping track that is 10 pounds lost. It surprises me that I am losing weight because I feel like I am eating more than I ever have.

More important than weight loss is how I feel. My energy is fairly high, although I do miss the mid-afternoon coffee. The brain fog sets in and tea just doesn’t cut through that.

lentil-tacos
Lentil Tacos

I was looking forward to lunch today because I got to eat my lentil tacos. They were just as good as I had hoped. I added chopped onion, vegan cheese, broccoli sprouts, avocado, and hot sauce. I could have eaten two more but I was doing my best to refrain and make a pig of myself.

The tacos were hearty and they kept me full most of the day. I normally don’t care for avocado, but on the tacos it tasted good.

I made a green smoothie for work and took some fruit salad to eat while I was there. After work I made a big salad that I can have for the next few days. I have to tell you, last night I added

salad-kimchi
No Average Salad

kimchi to my salad for the first time and now I am hooked! It is so perfect on a salad! Just enough heat and it livens up boring greens. I also added broccoli sprouts. I realize salads are dull to look at, but this one is top notch. The locally grown Florida Sweet Onion gave so much flavor. Add to it TesseMae’s Zesty Ranch vinaigrette and you have perfection.

What are you favorite salad toppings?

That’s it for me today. I hope you had a beautiful day.

Day 18 – signing off

Be Blessed!

 

Leave a Reply

