Day 16 – Holy Calling, Batman!

1 Corinthians 9:16     For if I preach the gospel, I have no reason to boast, because an obligation is placed on me. And woe to me if I do not preach the gospel!

This morning I was reading from My Utmost For His Highest by Oswald Chambers. It said, “Our calling is not primarily to be holy men and women but to be proclaimers of the gospel. As long as our eyes are focused on our own personal holiness, we will never even get close to the full reality of redemption. Christian workers fail because they place their desire for their own holiness above their desire to know God.”

Ouch. These are powerful words. How much time and energy do I spend trying to get my personal holiness in order? I would say a lot. Even in this fast I have a tendency to aim at perfection rather than embracing the journey. Why did my eating off plan cause such a big stumble for me if not for my own perfectionism?

Now compare how much time I spend preaching the gospel or sharing about Jesus or giving my testimony to others. The difference is so vast it is nearly impossible to compare. Why is this? I am not called to be holy, but to live for Jesus and spread the gospel. So why this desire to be what I would consider holy? Perhaps there is a bit of the idea of earning my purpose in God, or even earning my salvation. This is food for thought. I need to examine my heart and my motives and make sure they are pure and that they are aligned with God’s heart and will.

chocolate-peanut-butter-chia-seed-puddingBut first, Day 16 – A decent day. I am still trying to eat up all the pasta salad and 3 bean chili that I made, so I at both of those again today. I also had a smoothie, some hummus and chips and a fruit salad. For dessert today I had some Chocolate Peanut Butter Chia Pudding. That was really good and hit the spot for my sweet tooth. It came from another good website resource for recipes, http://www.asaucykitchen.com. Check it out if you are looking for recipes.

Anyway, that is my day. Not exciting in the food department, but a lot to think about spiritually.

Can you compare the amount of time you spend achieving holiness and the amount of time you spend spreading the gospel? Or are you like me and the two don’t even compare?

Be Blessed!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

