Day 14 – All Hail the Epic Fail

Lamentations 3:22-23     Because of the Lord’s faithful love we are not consumed, for his mercies never end. They are new every morning; great is your faithfulness. 

o-bloomin-onion
The Enemy

You know the scripture in 1 Peter that says to be alert because the enemy prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour? Well, today I think the verse was wrong. I think the enemy is the Bloomin’ Onion from Outback, and it lies in wait ready to BE devoured.

Yep, you guessed it. I failed today. I ate that Bloomin’ Onion and I savored each greasy, wheat coated bite.

Okay, in reality I feel guilty about giving in to temptation, but I succumbed to the overload on my senses this afternoon as I dined at Outback with my mom, my son, and my husband. I went to St. Petersburg to visit my son who works at BridgePoint Church. We attended service and I really enjoyed seeing a bit of what he does there every week. After service I stopped to see my mom, and the four of us went out to lunch. They chose Outback and since I didn’t want to be a pain, I agreed. You know that old joke? “How do you know if someone is a vegan? Don’t worry, they will tell you.” I don’t want to be that person.

I tried to make good choices, but even the veggie side dishes are loaded with butter and unknown seasoning. I ended up eating a salad, and a side of steamed broccoli. And of course… the Bloomin’ Onion. Ugh. I felt my resolve slipping with each passing minute I was there. I gave in to it. And now I regret it.

Thankfully, according to the above scripture from Lamentations, God’s Mercy never ends and is new every morning. I don’t know about you, but I have needed more morning do-overs and resets than I can count. I am grateful for His Faithful Love.

So.. that was my Day 14. As much as I regret caving in to temptation, I would do it again for the chance to hang out with my mom and my son. Family means a great deal to me.

How about you? Have you ever needed a do-over and a renewal of God’s Mercy in the morning?

Be Blessed!

One thought on “Day 14 – All Hail the Epic Fail

Leave a Reply

