Day 8 – Really, Really Real

2 Corinthians 3:16-18      But whenever anyone turns to the Lord, the veil is taken away. Now the Lord is the Spirit, and where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is freedom. And we, who with unveiled faces all reflect the Lord’s glory, are being transformed into his likeness with ever-increasing glory, which comes from the Lord, who is the Spirit. 

Day 8 – and weight is 214.4.

It doesn’t get more real than that. I recently had a friend tell me I was brave to put my real weight out on these posts. I understand what she is trying to say, but I have to disagree. It’s not brave, it is freedom.

You see, I have spent so many years of my life hiding behind a mask that looked like whatever other people wanted to see. At times I could be worldly, and the next day a saint, other times sarcastic, or offering wise council, and almost always sweet and kind. And somewhere in the midst of all those people is the real me. Very few people in my life have truly seen the real me. I have lived under a cloud of perfection, putting on airs that turned into fog which smothered me until I couldn’t breathe and I withdrew from everything social.

No more. This fast is the beginning of breaking the burden of acceptance off my shoulders. I refuse to concern myself any longer with the opinion of others about me or my life. It’s time to get real, and for the first time in my life I can fully exhale.

I know this 90 day journey is not about weight, but putting it out there is just being real. If I don’t lose another pound for the rest of my life, that’s okay with me. But if I pretend to be something I am not, I will suffocate. I can’t/won’t live under that burden.

So here I am, being real. The scripture above begins by talking about a veil. When Moses would speak to the people after spending time with God, he would wear a veil over his face to prevent the people from gazing upon the radiance of God’s Glory. I don’t want to wear a veil. I want the world to see the glory of God when they look at my face. I want my face to be a mirror of the Lord’s Glory. Because of Christ, I can cast off the veil for I have turned to the Lord and the veil was taken away. Turning to the Lord brings freedom and THAT is the light that dispels the fog and untangles me from its grip. It all comes down to Jesus.

In Jesus I am free.

So…. as I said before, its Day 8. It felt like a busy day but it wasn’t that bad. I just did some shopping, made some things in the kitchen, and went to work. After work, since I was let

pinto-beans
Spicy Pinto Beans over Rice

out early, I made some dinner for myself. It was yummy! Pinto Beans with tomato, onion, Mexican Spice mix, and hot sauce. I let it simmer in the pot until onions were tender, and served it over rice with veggies. It was delicious, although I had to add some more hot sauce to it once it was combined with rice. I will definitely make them this way again. For now I will look forward to leftovers tomorrow.

Good news from today is that my sciatic pain seems to be subsiding (knock on wood). It bothered me at about half the pain level of yesterday. It is a huge relief for me. I started stretching, and I’m also drinking turmeric every day. I don’t know which of those are working, but I will take what I can get. I will be stretching before bed tonight in hopes that I won’t be kept awake from the pain like last night. That was not fun. I had to get out of bed and walk around because it’s the only way to relieve the pain. I’m not sure which is worse, emotional pain or physical pain. The reality is, they both hurt.

What is your reality? Are you really real, or is their a veil over parts of your life? I encourage you to turn to the Lord and let Christ remove the veil so you can walk in freedom.

Be Blessed!

 

Leave a Reply

