Day 7 – Try, Try Again

Day 7 and I attempted two new things. One was successful, the other not so much. Oh, and I tried out my new Instant Pot. It was just rice, but I wanted to give it a test drive. It was easy and the rice turned out perfect. It will go great with my roasted veggies this week.

First new recipe I tried to make Golden Milk, which is basically the same as turmeric tea

goldenmilk
Golden Milk

but made with milk instead of water. It was really delicious and tasted like comfort in a cup. I used a can of coconut milk, 1 tsp turmeric, 1/4 tsp cinnamon, 1 tbsp honey, and a pinch of black pepper. Just whisk the ingredients together in a pot until combined and simmer for about 10 minutes stirring often (I stirred almost constantly). It was frothy and creamy and soothing! I will definitely make it again, but not too often because I can’t drink coconut milk every day. Tomorrow I will use water and make the tea. I am really hoping it will help with my sciatic pain that I have been dealing with all week. It is becoming bad. I have had sciatic pain before, but not like this. Thankfully, about an hour after I drank the golden milk, my pain subsided quite a bit and I was able to get some rest. Coincidence? It’s possible, but I will try anything to avoid medication. I will let you know if the tea does the same thing.

The second new thing was an attempt to make vegan cauliflower pizza crust. For the record, I was skeptical from the start, but I went for it. Who wants to munch on veggie

pizza
My first ever attempt at cauliflower pizza crust. 

sticks when the Steelers are playing? I wanted pizza. The taste was good and not far from regular pizza, but the texture was a train wreck. It was too soft. I’m not a quitter, so I just ate it with a fork.

I think I will try this again, but play with the crust recipe. I used chia seeds and water to bind the cauliflower and almond flour. Also, I didn’t really squeeze much excess water out of the cauliflower rice. I’m sure that had something to do with it.

The best part is learning that there are so many ways to make my favorite food with a vegan twist. It has me thinking I may be able to keep this up long term.

I was bummed that the pizza crust didn’t turn out, if I’m being truly honest. I pride myself in being a decent cook, and all this vegan cooking has shaken my confidence a bit. But I know I have to keep trying and it will get better. I just need to keep adjusting and learning.

Having a focus for this fast is helping me stay on track even while I am struggling in the kitchen. I need to keep my eyes on God. It’s not always an easy task, though. So many things will distract even the most steadfast believer. Even God’s blessings can distract us from keeping our eyes on Him. Why does it seem we focus better in the midst of tragedy and pain than we do in the good times? I know for me, my eyes are averted easily throughout my day. Just as with vegan cooking, however, I will keep trying. I pray this fast will make it easier to look to God and keep my focus there. By dying to self, I can live for Him. That is my goal.

Psalm 16:8   I keep my eyes always on the Lord. With him at my right hand, I will not be shaken. 

What is it in your life that takes your eyes off of God? Don’t ever stop trying to recapture that focus.

Be Blessed!

 

Leave a Reply

