Day 4 – Oh, My Aching Back

Day 4 started with a 3:30 wake up call to take my husband to the airport. Not exactly fun, especially since I couldn’t sip on a strong cup of coffee on the way. For the record, green tea is great, but it doesn’t knock the sleep out of my eyes like coffee. At the end of these 9-days, I can almost guarantee I will back to drinking coffee. With Creamer. And no regrets. But I digress…

Food choices were solid today. Oatmeal, Veggie Soup (twice), Green Smoothie, Fruit Salad, and chip and hummus. Overall, not bad, although it may have been high on the calorie count, IF I was counting calories. For the sake of my sanity, I am not counting calories. In my opinion, when you are eating clean, no processed foods, whole foods with real ingredients, calories become less important. I am following the “eat when you’re hungry and stop when you’re satisfied or full” philosophy.

The biggest issue I have is how much my body hurts today. My joints hurt, my back hurts, my legs and knees hurt, my shoulder blades hurt, and my sides hurt. I had a slight headache, nothing major, but the rest of the pain was rough to get through. It made work (as a waitress) difficult for sure. I started thinking about why I am hurting today, and then I realized I have had very little water in the last 24 hours. BIG NO-NO. So I am upping my water intake and hoping that it will flush out some of the toxins that my new diet is helping my body to eliminate. I have a sneaking suspicion this is a major cause of my aches and pains.

It’s funny how one little thing like not drinking enough water can throw off the entire balance of my well being. It got me thinking about how that happens with God, too. Sometimes we can look for God and just can’t seem to find him. It feels lonely and painful and we can feel abandoned by Him. Yet, if we take a closer look, we find that we have overlooked something simple – prayer. Just like I forgot to drink enough water today, I have my days where I forget to spend enough time in prayer. Normally my busy day is the culprit of missed prayer time, but missing prayer time makes my busy day go haywire. Taking the time to pray and read and worship Him eliminates all the toxins that the world throws at me. He is the Living Water, after all. 1 Thessalonians 5:17 tells us to pray continually, and Colossians 4:2 says to “Devote yourselves to prayer, being watchful and thankful.”

I posted that second verse on my bathroom mirror as a reminder to drink of the Living Water so I can flush my body of the negativity and toxicities of the world.

This picture is hard to read, but you get the idea:

mirror

How is your prayer life? Do you have a favorite verse on your bathroom mirror?

Be Blessed!

Leave a Reply

