Day 3 – Back to Basics

Welcome to Day 3 of my journey.

Today was a day off from work so I was able to run my errands and do my shopping and visit my Mother Land – aka NutritionSmart. I love that place and I can browse the shelves for hours. Today, however, I was frustrated trying to find a soy free, sugar free, dairy free salad dressing. The only one I could find was Braggs berry vinaigrette. Not a bad choice, but I need options! Thankfully a friend messaged me to tell me that my local Publix sells ODang Hummus and Salad Dressings. If you don’t know that company, you should check them out. They were featured on the show Shark Tank. Good stuff!

Anyway, with all my running around I failed to plan ahead for breakfast and resorted to a wonderful nutritious breakfast… NOT!

snack

Breakfast was a fail, but I had purchased lots of ingredients to make some meals this week. I came home and ate celery and PB (AGAIN) while I started making the vegetable soup that I have been craving. Normally I eat my soup with a big slice of crusty bread, but since I can’t do that this time I added some potatoes to make it a little more hearty.

soup

The soup turned out delicious, even though this is a bad picture. I ate two bowls and can’t wait to dig in again tomorrow. As always, I got my craving for something to munch on around 8pm, so I made some popcorn the old fashioned way. I used coconut oil, and organic popcorn, and put it in a pan on the stove. Once it popped I added salt and nutitional yeast for flavor and oh, man… it was delicious!

popcorn

I will definitely be making this again. An easy snack is a good thing!

Another thing I noticed today was a bad headache. I didn’t drink as much caffeine as I had the past two days. Caffeine addiction is real and it is not pretty. I am anxiously awaiting the time when I am no longer controlled by that addiction. It took me by surprise that I was so affected by cutting back on caffeine. It reminded me that God asked me to do this fast for a reason. My flesh/body was controlling me, and that is not okay. I need to trust what He is calling me to do during this fast.

Recently a friend challenged me to examine how much I really trust God. Is it merely in words or in thought, or do I trust Him enough to be fully obedient? She used the song Oceans by Hillsong as an example. If you don’t know the song, look it up. The bridge of that song says this:

“Spirit lead me where my trust is without borders, let me walk upon the waters wherever you would lead me. Take me deeper than my feet could ever wander, and my faith will be made stronger in the presence of my Savior.”

Beautiful words, right? I have sung them many times, but her challenge was to examine whether I really mean those words when I sing them. Do I really want to go where my trust has no borders? Where the future isn’t obvious? Where my next step is not clear? Do I really trust Him to lead me there? In all honesty I have to admit I don’t know. I want to believe that I trust Him that much, but do I? It has me thinking and it is one of things I am praying on during this 90 day fast. Time to lay down the reigns of control.

How much do you trust Him? Take some time to reflect on this scripture:

Proverbs 3:5-6 Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge Him and he will make your paths straight.

Be Blessed!

 

 

Leave a Reply

