Day 1 -The Honey Infraction

It’s Day 1 of my 90 day adventure into the world of vegan.

I have to say, I woke up today not looking forward to my day. First, I had to give up my coffee because I’m a wuss who can’t drink coffee black. No dairy or sugar = no creamer = no coffee for me. Instead I drank green tea with honey. As much as I love coffee, I also like tea so this wasn’t a problem for me. Until someone told me that honey is not vegan. Excuse me? I mean, I get that bees make honey, but does that mean it really isn’t vegan? After thinking hard for all of 90 seconds, I decided I could live with being “almost” vegan. If consuming honey means I can’t call myself vegan, so be it. I mean really, I gave up processed sugar, and now you want me to give up honey? Not gonna happen.

Here is my menu today:

Pre-Breakfast: Green Tea with Honey. No Coffee. day1-tea

Breakfast:          Steel Cut Oats with a tsp of real maple syrup, a sprinkle of cinnamon, and about 2 tbsp of unsweetened vanilla almond milk.

Lunch:                 Stir Fry of Broccoli/Quinoa/ChickPeas day1-lunch

Dinner:  Salad with Braggs Vinaigrette

day1-dinner

It doesn’t sound too exciting, but I’m trying to avoid snacks for the first week until I get used to the new way of eating. I have some ideas for later that should keep my sweet tooth at bay.

Overall, the menu was fine and I was satisfied. My emotions, though? That’s a different story. I had a break down last night in front of my husband, who has been the victim of my mood swings and mild depression for the past couple of months. Poor guy said one thing, and I broke down in tears. He is a good man, though, and instead of trying to fix the problem, he gave me a hug, which was what I needed.

So why the breakdown? I have been feeling a bit lost lately. I am not sure what direction God is taking my life, my future, or what is next for me. It isn’t a good place to be, and I haven’t been dealing with it well. No big surprise there. Part of the reason I am doing this 90 day vegan fast is to get my entire being, mind, body, spirit, in line with Him.

Here is how awesome God is, though… As I sipped my green tea this morning I sat down to do my devotional and spend some time with Jesus. My verse for today was Isaiah 41:14 –
“I myself will help you, declares the Lord”. Perfect, right? Day 1 of a slightly scary adventure, during a tumultuous time in my life, while my body detoxes from sugar and other processed foods. I was overwhelmed and as I said earlier, I wasn’t looking forward to my day. As I read this verse, however, I began thinking of all the huge things God has done for me, and He has never let me down. He will always be there to help me. What I am facing is so small compared to Him, so what has me afraid? Is it that I will succumb to the temptation to fall off this fast and give in to the flesh? Maybe, but I am reminded that God is so much bigger than my flesh. Galatians 5:16 says to walk by the Spirit, and you will not gratify the desires of the flesh.

So that is my prayer today, that I may walk by the Spirit, and not let the world distract me from keeping my eyes on Him. By doing so, I will align my will with His, and I will get through this.

What are you afraid of? Can you find a scripture that reminds you how much bigger God is than your fear?

Be Blessed!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

